Paloma, our motorhome has once again hit the jackpot, with a free stopover, free services and better still free electric!
We are parked next to the river in the small Tuscan village of Chifenti. (N44.004810 E10.563220).
“The chain Bridge.”
It spans the Lima River in Tuscany, connecting the towns of Fomoli and Chifenti.
In the nineteenth century, royal architect Lorenzo Nottolini designed this footbridge fot Duke Carlo Ludovico, who sought to have the grandest of entranced to Bagni di Lucca’s thermal baths.
Sadly during World War II, bombs damaged the metal links and road surface of the Bridge, it was eventually repaired in 1953 and reopened but again fell into disrepair and it wasn’t until the early 2000’s that complete repairs were made and the bridge fully usable again.
About a 3km walk from the aire de Sosta stands a stunning bridge that appears as if it’s lunging to the shore, and has a spooky legend….
“The devils bridge”
Its official name means the Bridge of Mary Magdalene, yet it’s better known by its more devilsh nickname.
This comes from its strange shape, a feat of engineering for the 11th century when it was constructed. It spans 131 feet over the Serchio River and is 60 feet tall at the peak of its highest of the five random sized arches.
But the popular legend is alot more fun.
In exchange he would get the soul of the first to cross it! Supposedly, the clever townspeople sent a dog over first, although it’s unclear if the poor dog then faced hell and eternal damnation or if it cheated the devil who just moved on to try and get a soul or two elsewhere. ……
Like it? Pin it!